Byword Invalid Purchase Reciept

One of my favorite plain text editors for the Mac and iOS is Byword. After starting this blog, I realized how useful publishing directly from Byword on any device might be and promptly used the in-app button to purchase the publishing version of Byword on Mac OS and directly published my second blog post from Byword on Mac OS.

However, after purchasing the publishing feature on my iPad, I received a notification indicating that I had an “invalid purchase receipt.” This error stopped the publishing features from working properly but still allowed the payment to go through. Thus, I did not have the pro features even though I paid for them. I contacted the developer (Jorge Pedroso) who apologized for the inconvenience and said that this is “a known issue” and that he is “in the process of submitting an update” to fix the issue that should be available later this week.

So, if you have purchased the publishing features of Byword on iOS and received the “invalid purchase receipt” error, a fix is on the way.

If you have not tried Byword, I highly recommend trying it out. It is one of the best text editors that syncs across all devices and has a responsive and active developer. If you do not believe me, check out a great review of an older version of Byword by Federico Viticci at Macstories.net.

Leave a Reply

